At its AGM on 26th February, Rt. Hon Karen Bradley MP was elected as the new chair of the APPG on Challenger Banks and Buildings Societies.

Karen is a former Secretary of State for Culture, Media, and Sport and Northern Ireland and currently also chairs the House of Commons Procedure Committee. She is the Conservative MP for Staffordshire Moorlands and has the Leek United Building Society in her constituency.

Prior to being elected to Parliament, Karen worked as an accountant for two of the major accounting firms as well as spending a spell as a self-employed tax and economics consultant. She has qualified as both a Chartered Accountant and Chartered Tax Adviser.

The APPG also elected five Vice-Chairs. They are Jim McMahon MP (Labour/Co-op MP for Oldham West and Royton), Peter Gibson MP (Conservative, Darlington), Baroness Kramer (Lib Dem), Baroness Drake (Labour), and Baroness Wheatcroft (Conservative).

You can find a list of all the members of the APPG on Challenger Banks and Building Societies here.

Membership of the APPG is open to all members of the House of Commons and House of Lords. Other stakeholders are also welcome to join as Associate Members.

If you would like to find out more about membership, please contact the Secretariat.